Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
The following ordinance is from Chapter 90 Section 26:
Every person operating a motor vehicle which is involved in an accident in which any person is killed or injured or in which there is damage in excess of one thousand dollars to any one vehicle or other property shall, within five days after such accident, report in writing to the registrar on a form approved by him and send a copy thereof to the police department having jurisdiction on the way where such accident occurred; provided, however, that such police department shall accept a report filed by an owner or operator whose vehicle has been damaged in an accident in which another person has unlawfully left the scene of such accident. Such report shall not be required during the period of incapacity of any person who is physically incapable of making a report. If the operator is not the owner of the vehicle and is physically incapable of making such written report, the owner shall within five days after the accident make such report based on such knowledge as he may have and such information as he can obtain regarding the accident.
Visit Mass.gov to find Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) forms and applications.
Mail Original to Registry of Motor Vehicles at:
Crash RecordsRegistry of Motor VehiclesP.O. Box 199100Boston, MA 02119-9100
Mail or deliver copy to your local police department in the city or town where crash occurred.For accident occurring in the Town of Charlton, you may mail or deliver to:
Charlton Police Department85 Masonic Home RoadCharlton, MA 01507
Mail or Deliver a copy to your Insurance Company
Be sure to keep a copy for you own records
To obtain a copy of your accident report, please click this link: https://buycrash.lexisnexisrisk.com/ui/home
The Massachusetts Department of Revenue and Massachusetts General Laws require the Board of Assessors to maintain a reinspection program of the properties within the community. The program consists of an inspection of all properties in Charlton every 10 years, also known as, Cyclical Reinspections. Call the Assessors' Department at 508-248-2233 for more information.
The Board of Assessors is responsible to maintain a full and fair market value of properties in Charlton. This can only be accomplished if the data we have is accurate. The collection and maintenance of current and accurate property inventory data. For more information call the Assessors' Department at 508-248-2233.
An inspection will be completed of all properties in the town unless the property has been visited within the last nine years. You will receive a blue post card notice in the mail to schedule your appointment. The data collector is currently an assessor in another community and will carry a letter from this office along with identification. For more information, call the Assessors' Department at 508-248-2233.
The final goal is to have a uniform, fair market value of all properties in Charlton. In other words, a fair assessment of your property. For more information, call the Assessors' Department at 508-248-2233.
To request a police detail, download a Police Detail Request Form (PDF), fill it out and email it to the Charlton Police Department at firstname.lastname@example.org or fax it to 508-248-1039. The following information is needed:
MONDAY-FRIDAY IF ORDERED BEFORE 10:00 PM THE DAY PRIOR
7 AM – 7 PM is $50/Hr. – minimum hour blocks of 4 hrs., 8 hrs. and 12 hrs.
7 PM – 7 AM is $75/Hr. – minimum hour blocks of 4 hrs., 8 hrs. and 12 hrs.
MONDAY-FRIDAY IF ORDERED AFTER 10:00 PM THE DAY PRIOR (“EMERGENCY”)
7 AM – 7 PM is $75/Hr. for the first 4 hrs. and $50/Hr. after – minimum hour blocks of 4 hrs., 8 hrs. and 12 hrs.
7 PM – 7 AM is $112.50/Hr. for the first 4 hrs. and $75/Hr. after – minimum hour blocks of 4 hrs., 8 hrs. and 12 hrs.
SATURDAYS, SUNDAYS & HOLIDAYS IF ORDERED BEFORE 10:00 PM THE DAY PRIOR
7 AM – 7 PM is $75/Hr. – minimum hour blocks of 4 hrs., 8 hrs. and 12 hrs.
7 PM – 7 AM is $112.50/Hr. – minimum hour blocks of 4 hrs., 8 hrs. and 12 hrs.
SATURDAYS, SUNDAYS & HOLIDAYS IF ORDERED AFTER 10:00 PM THE DAY PRIOR (“EMERGENCY”)
7 AM – 7 PM is $112.50/Hr. for the first 4 hrs. and $75/Hr. after – minimum hour blocks of 4 hrs., 8 hrs. and 12 hrs.
*Anything over 8 hrs. will be charged at 1.5 times the hourly rate in effect at the time of the detail, not to exceed $112.50/hr.
*Hourly fees of 10% for administrative costs and 25% for cruiser costs will be added to all details.
*Details will be charged for the amount of time ordered, rounded up to the next 4 hour block, regardless of how long the detail actually lasts.
2 HOUR MINIMUM NOTICE FOR CANCELLATIONFailure to give the minimum two hour cancellation notice will result in a charge equal to the length of the detail requested.
See the marriage licenses/certificates page for more information on how to apply for a Notice of Intention of Marriage.
To view more information on state elections, visit the elections page.
For information on how to register to vote, please see the Registrars of Voters page.
Find out more information by viewing the elections page.
Visit the elections page to view voting locations.