- Police Department
- Sex Offender Registry
Sex Offender Registry
To request additional information, please contact Officer Burdett at 508-248-2250.
View the Sex Offender Registry:
Legal Changes in the Sex Offender Registry
On September 10, 1999, a new law pertaining to the Sex Offender Registry and Community Notification Act became effective in Massachusetts. This act replaced the old Sex Offender Registry and Community Notification Act. Because of the legal challenges raised previously, the Registry experienced a hiatus. The courts have since heard these cases and ruled the Registry can now proceed.
Once offenders have been afforded a hearing and been found to be a sexually dangerous person they are obligated to register at their local police department. The Sex Offender Registry also notifies local police departments that offenders after their appeals are moving to their particular jurisdiction.
Who Must Register
Pursuant to Chapter 6, section 178 of the Massachusetts General Laws, a person is required to register as a sex offender if he/she lives or works in the Commonwealth and was:
- Adjudicated a delinquent juvenile on or after August 1, 1981
- Adjudicated a sexually dangerous person on or after August 1, 1981
- Adjudicated a youthful offender on or after August 1, 1981
- Convicted on or after August 1, 1981
- Released from civil commitment on or after August 1, 1981
- Released from the Department of Youth Services on or after August 1, 1981
- Released from incarceration on or after August 1, 1981
- Released from parole or probation supervision on or after August 1, 1981
For one or more of the following crimes:
- Aggravated rape
- Any attempt to commit a violation of any of the aforementioned sections pursuant to section 6 of said chapter 274 or a like violation of the laws of another sate, the United States or a military, territorial or Indian tribal authority
- Assault with intent to commit rape
- Disseminating to a minor matter harmful to a minor
- Dissemination of visual material of a child in a state of nudity or sexual conduct
- Drugging persons for sexual intercourse
- Enticing away a person for prostitution or sexual intercourse
- Incestuous marriage or intercourse
- Indecent assault and battery on a child under 14
- Indecent assault and battery on a mentally retarded person
- Indecent assault and battery on a person age 14 or over
- Inducing a minor into prostitution
- Kidnapping of a child
- Living off or sharing earnings of a minor prostitute
- Posing or exhibiting a child in a state of nudity
- Possession of child pornography
- Rape and abuse of a child
- Rape of a child under 16 with force
- Second and subsequent conviction for open and gross lewdness and lascivious behavior, but excluding a first or single adjudication as a delinquent juvenile before August 1, 1991
- Unnatural and lascivious acts with a child under 16
Sex Offenders Moving
Sex Offenders Moving into Massachusetts
All sex offenders must register with the Board by mail within 2 days of moving into the Commonwealth from another jurisdiction.
Sex Offenders Moving within Massachusetts from One Address to Another
All sex offenders must register by notifying the Board of their current and new address by mail at least 10 days prior to:
- Moving to a different city or town in the Commonwealth
- Moving within the same city or town in the Commonwealth
Out of State Sex Offenders Working in Massachusetts
Sex offenders residing in locations outside of Massachusetts, but who are employed in the Commonwealth, must register with the Board by mail within 2 days of beginning employment.
Changes of Work Addresses for All Sex Offenders
Sex offenders must register by notifying the Board of their current and new work address by mail at least 10 days prior to changing a place of employment.
Sex Offenders Moving Out of Massachusetts
Sex offenders must notify the Board of their new address by mail at least 10 days prior to moving out of the Commonwealth.
Homeless Sex Offenders
All sex offenders residing at a homeless shelter must verify registration data every 90 days by mail to the Board. The penalties for failure to register, verify registration information, provide notice of change of address or employment, or provide false information are the following:
- First conviction: Imprisonment for not more than 30 days in a house of correction
- Second conviction: Imprisonment for not more than 2 1/2 years in a house of correction nor more than 5 years in a state prison or by a fine of not more than $1,000
- Third and Subsequent conviction: Imprisonment in state prison for not less than 5 years
Penalties for Failure to Comply
The following are penalties for failure to comply with G.L. c. 6. Sections 178C to 178P.
Sex offenders will be prosecuted for violating the law if they knowingly:
- Fail to provide notice of change of address or place of employment
- Fail to register
- Fail to verify registration information
- Provide false information
The penalties for the above-referenced violations are:
- First conviction: Imprisonment for not less than 6 months and not more than 2 1/2 years in a house or correction nor more than 5 years in a state prison or by a fine of not more than $1,000
- Second and Subsequent conviction: Imprisonment in state prison for not less than 5 years
Duty to Verify Your Registration Information
Sex offenders are required to verify that their registration information is accurate and up-to-date. Until further notice, they must annually verify their registration data, by mail, to the Board.